top of page
Suche
  • AutorenbildTobi Luka

"Supreme Guardian of Souls" conversion


The Wychlight Triad of Nagashizzar - consisting of Ghaskrul, Darrakar and Verreknos

I haven't touched any of my nighthaunt miniatures, paints or tools for far more than a year. But then the virus struck and home office brought a sudden and unexpected lot of free time. So I decided to tackle another project that I've been planning for quite some time: Creating my own "Guardian of Souls". My idea was to build a supreme Nighthaunt wizard similar to Reikenor - including the iconic lantern, candles and hex flames. And although I thought I might have gotten rusty, luckily I immediately clicked back into my hobby-mode. Anyway, enjoy the model and a quick reference to my kitbashing/conversion process below.



Painting Showcase: Ghaskrul - Supreme Guardian of Souls

The colour scheme follows the basic nighthaunt range, nothing special here. Worth mentioning is probably the fact that I tried out a few (I'd carefully say 'advanced') painting techniques such as wet-blending for the ghostly parts as well as object source lighting (OSL) for everything in range of the lantern. Despite the fact that it literally took me days to finish this miniature, I had a blast painting it. However, edge-highlighting is still something I find extremely pesky and exhausting.



kitbashing/conversion reference

In order to create the model, I had to scavenge a number of different kits, which altogether cost me quite few bucks. :O For the armor plating I used a collar piece from the imperium battlemage kit as a base. Since this piece alone was too small and 'in a rather neat condition', I scraped some bits off here and there and also remodelled it using green stuff. This part was easy. Apart from that, I sculpted two additional plates to achieve the look I wanted. This part was ... frustrating ... as I've never worked with actual green stuff before, so it was basically a total mess including furious shouting and destroying half of my green stuff. Honestly, for my own sanity, I will never do this this again! :D


All in all, I'm really happy with the result and it was worth all the time! Hope you like it.



6.415 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page